Skip to content

BOOKS

The Whole Hole Story

Category: Children’s Picture Book
Publisher: Versify 

Zia is used to the hole in her pocket—she frequently fills it with frogs and other objects. And as it gets bigger and bigger, she starts to wonder what might happen . . . if she fell right through. Would she cover it with a blanket to catch an elephant, or dig a tunnel to the other side of the world? The possibilities are endless, and readers will love following Zia’s adventurous imagination from beginning to end. 

With hilarious wordplay paired with Ken Lamug’s bright and colorful illustrations, The Whole Hole Story will appeal to kids’ divine sense of silliness. Perfect for fans of Du Iz Tak?, and They All Saw a Cat.

Ghastly Ghosts

Category: Children’s Picture Book
Publisher: Albert Whitman 

Old Dave inherits a lonely old house from his uncle—a nice enough place, if a bit lonely. One cold night he hears a voice: Ghastly ghosts in the old coal shed! At first he tries to ignore it, but he hears it again and again—Ghastly ghosts in the old coal shed! And when the fireplace runs out of coal, Dave has no choice but to brave the dreaded coal shed…and whatever dwells within. But Old Dave’s got an idea that just might work out for him AND the spirits.

Petro and The Flea King

Category: All-Ages Graphic Novel, Fantasy Folktale
Publisher: Rabblebox 

From an award-winning children’s book author and illustrator comes a wordless graphic novel full of whimsy, tradition, and fun for all ages. Petro the lazy boy, goes on an out-of-this-world adventure as he tries to save a small town from the torments of the Flea King and his minions.

A is for Asteroids, Z is for Zombies - A Bedtime Book about the Coming Apocalypse ​

Category: Adult, Parody Alphabet Book
Publisher: Andrews McMeel 

A darkly comic fable that offers visions of the apocalypse for every letter of the alphabet.

Starting with a father whose son has been asking questions about global dangers, A Is for Asteroids, Z Is for Zombies takes us inside our worst fears, laughing at some and taking others seriously. With macabre verse and fantastically gory illustrations, it provides gallows humor for our doom-haunted times.

The Stumps of Flattop Hill

Category: Scary Stories, Macabre, Fairy-tale
Publisher: One Peace Books 

They dared Florence to enter the haunted house on top of the hill. She is frightened, but Florence musters the courage to go inside. As she makes her way up to the top she finds many ghastly things along the way. Will she make it back out or be turned into a stump forever? The Stumps of Flattop Hill is a macabre tale of a little girl who enters the town’s legendary haunted house in the face of fear. A dark tale for children in the tradition of the Brother’s Grimm, it calls to mind the provocative illustration style of Edward Gorey. Scary and entertaining, this book challenges the idea of what children’s books can be. 

Hurts Like a Mother: A Cautionary Alphabet Hardcover

Category: Adult Humor, Parody
Publisher: Double Day Publishing 

At last—the book that truly feels your pain. Whether you’ve had a kid for decades or a few minutes, you know it can hurt— physically, emotionally, and, let’s just say it: like a motherf*&^%! A parody of Edward Gorey’s classic The Gashlycrumb Tinies, this grown up picture book takes you on an A-Z journey through the perils of modern parenting as twenty-six moms succumb to hilarious and horrific child-care related fates. Hurts Like a Mother will make you laugh so you don’t cry (or die)

A Box Story

Category: Children’s Picture Book, Conceptual
Publisher: Rabblebox

A Box Story is an illustrated picture book that invites the reader to look at things in a different way. With the use of hand drawn images, you are taken through simple thought provoking ideas about a box and how it is not just a box

A Tiny Book of Tiny Stories

Category: Novelty, Anthology Picture Book

From Golden Globe Award–nominee Joseph Gordon-Levitt and his online creative coalition hitRECord, and in collaboration with the artist Wirrow, comes Volume 3 in the Tiny Book of Tiny Stories series.

To create The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, known within the hitRECord.org community as RegularJOE, directs thousands of collaborators to tell tiny stories through words and art. With the help of the entire creative collective, he culls, edits, and curates the massive numbers of contributions into a finely tuned collection.

Underneath The Juniper Tree

Category: Children’s Fairy Tale Magazine

Underneath The Juniper Tree was created after the departure of the beloved Crow Toes Quarterly Magazine in order to fill the gap in our lives. Underneath The Juniper Tree is a non-profit online magazine that supports new and budding artists and writers. We aim to promote the most creatively fantastical and darkly neurotic literature that has been much loved over the centuries and will be loved for centuries to come. Enjoy and remember, don’t get lost. You don’t want to end up underneath the Juniper Tree. Read Online For Free

Purchase Anthology Book on Amazon